The Four Types of Teas

by Sam D | | 0 comments

For today’s blog we decided to cover the four major tea types – which are Black, Green, White & Oolong. But just so you know, these four types of teas come from the same plant, which is called Camellia Sinensis. The way we determine what type of a tea to create depends on how the leaves will be treated after they are harvested. Let us now explore the four different types of tea.
Black Tea
The most popular from the list is the Black Tea, which takes part in daily ceremonies around the world. It is made of heavily oxidized leaves of Camellia Sinensis, which undergoes a long process of oxidation and fermentation of the tea leaves and eventually results in the darkening of the leaves. When looking over the benefits, the two main noticeable benefits are improved digestion and lowered cholesterol. On its own, it has zero calories, carbohydrates or fats but it is usually served with added sugar for a sweeter taste. Many people prefer this tea with honey or squeeze of lemon or even with milk. This particular tea type has more caffeine than the rest but the fun fact is that it has less caffeine than coffee.
Green Tea
In the recent few years, this particular tea has been gaining a lot of popularity in the U.S. due to its many health benefits. Green Tea has been used in China for millenniums; it is believed that it was discovered in China around 4000 years ago. Green Tea is lightly oxidized and dried but it is not fermented. It is usually served plain and without milk or sugar. Furthermore, Green Tea helps to lower cholesterol and it helps prevent cancer along with other benefits. These two main benefits are the reason why it appeals to so many tea drinkers.
White Tea
Probably the most expensive and the rarest of the four, the White Tea is made of the young Camellia Sinensis leaves. It undergoes, a long process of steaming, inactivate fermenting and drying. The reason it is called “White Tea” is because the leaves were harvested while the buds were still covered by white hair. Out of the four types of tea this is the sweetest tasting, in addition to having the least amount of caffeine and the highest amount of antioxidants that are proven to help prevent cancer.
Oolong Tea
Lastly, we have the Oolong Tea, which is just starting to gain popularity. This tea has a unique taste which is achieved by a very long process of sun drying, light oxidization, and cooling which gives a result of lighter flavor than the popular black tea. This is a traditional Chinese tea, which is popular in many of the Chinese restaurants around the world, especially in the United States.
Now that we have better understanding about the four main types of teas out there, we can decide which type to drink for a given situation. It is good to have options!
Atman Tea Co.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published